Day In the Life

Ever been in that state of consciousness where you’re half asleep but totally aware of everything and everyone around you?  You hear the clock, the dog sleeping near the bed is snoring quite loudly while doing some serious Z’s, and every bad commercial for sleep aids is running through your head that it is causing you to have nightmares?  Hey Charlie Sheen – am I W-I-N-N-I-N-G yet?

Just when you finally drifted off to slumber land, Mr. Responsibility comes a knocking with his alarm music playing from the clock radio and I hear John Lennon sing his Day In the Life…

Woke up, fell out of bed,
Dragged a comb across my head
Found my way downstairs and drank a cup,
And looking up I noticed I was late.
Found my coat and grabbed my hat
Made the bus in second splat
Found my way upstairs and had a smoke,
and Somebody spoke and I went into a dream

Time to get up and go make the donuts!  Hit the shower and accidently turn on the cold water instead of hot, cut myself while shaving, close the medicine cabinet door on my finger – man it’s a banner day so far – hell I’m afraid to go much farther – hey Mr. Lennon are you sure I’m still not dreaming?

Wake the wife up as I am heading out the door and the 3 large dogs want to go out – o.k. o.k. I get the message!

Am I complaining – hell no I got a job where they do nothing but complain.  Where the residents of stoopid town all seem to have my phone number or e-mail address and ask the craziest of questions.  But I got TIGER BLOOD – I GOT THIS!!!

So remember when you’re having a bad day – no matter what day it is – press on, because as John Lennon sang to us so many years ago – it’s all a “Day In the Life”.  Have a good one…

About martingilligan

Many of my friends and family have stated that I not only have a gift with words but also self expression. As long as I can remember I have always wanted to be a writer, but being my own worst critic, I tend either not to share my work, or take the necessary risks to accept the criticism one needs to grow and continue on with my craft. I often start on projects with the intent to succeed, but rarely if at any time do I continue to follow through. It is my hope that this experiment will be the necessary tool to keep me in the habit of pursuing my dream of writing, and continuing on even when Mr. Criticism comes knocking on my door. So as I often say, a blank page is an open invitation to view my thoughts and ideas as I bleed my creativity upon its empty space. So strap yourself in...the roller coaster ride is about to begin, as I welcome you to my madness.
This entry was posted in Daily Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

