Increase Productivity…

Are you tired? Tired all the time? Are you getting enough rest? Does it affect your productivity? Let’s explore how some simple changes in your daily lifestyle can increase your energy and productiveness.

We are all different, yet similar in some basic ways. One of these ways is our circadian rhythm. It is the reason why you feel so active at some points of the day, yet so sluggish at others. Some of us are most efficient in the night, afternoon, or day.

The solution to increasing your efficiency has been finding a chunk of time where you can be most efficient. Almost everyone has a 2-3 hour block of time every day, where your cognitive functions are incredibly alert.

It is so important to find a 2-3 hour chunk of time during the day when you are most productive. And when this time comes, cherish it. Here are a few tips to help you optimize your efficiency during these peaks:

1. Take breaks: Let’s say your peak time is in the afternoon. If you surround yourself in mentally painstaking work for say three hours without any break, you will most likely feel run down afterward. Your mental performance/energy for the rest of the day will probably not be at full capacity. This is why you need to take a short break during your productive time. I recommend about 60-90 minutes of work, followed by a 15 minute break. I think listening to music is also a fantastic way to make use of your break time. I have my iPhone plugged in at my desk all day playing music that empowers me to do my best.

2. Don’t beat yourself up: Mistakes happen all of the time. You may not be as focused as you like during your sharpest time of the day, but that is no reason to beat yourself up. If that voice inside your head is hassling you, calm it down, and know that you will eventually build this amazing and empowering habit.

3. Set up your schedule the night before: I am a big schedule person. I get so much done with schedules, but they too can make you feel trapped, stressed, and limit spontaneity in life. Yet, it is quite important to know what tasks you will tackle during your sharpest times of the day. The rest of your day can be unplanned.

In short, find two chunks of time, approximately two hours each, in which you are most productive. It’s best if they are spaced far apart. During those blocks of time, focus on the most important and fulfilling work that you have scheduled in advance. Remember to forgive yourself if you have trouble developing this habit at first. Just because you can’t lift the weights today, doesn’t mean you won’t be strong enough to lift them tomorrow.

About martingilligan

Many of my friends and family have stated that I not only have a gift with words but also self expression. As long as I can remember I have always wanted to be a writer, but being my own worst critic, I tend either not to share my work, or take the necessary risks to accept the criticism one needs to grow and continue on with my craft. I often start on projects with the intent to succeed, but rarely if at any time do I continue to follow through. It is my hope that this experiment will be the necessary tool to keep me in the habit of pursuing my dream of writing, and continuing on even when Mr. Criticism comes knocking on my door. So as I often say, a blank page is an open invitation to view my thoughts and ideas as I bleed my creativity upon its empty space. So strap yourself in...the roller coaster ride is about to begin, as I welcome you to my madness.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

